aaNet Support Forum

Members Forum
It is currently Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:35 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 24 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:36 am 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
Hi All,

Powertel is having issues in NSW and currently access is slow or non existant for these users.

Powertel is aware of the Fault but no estimated time of restore is available at this time.

We will keep you updated of the Progress


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:54 am 
Offline
Volunteer Moderator
Volunteer Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 1:36 pm
Posts: 5134
Location: Brisbane QLD
I've posted this on WP too as it's the first port of call for many...

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-re ... m?t=534290

_________________
Scorpio
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:35 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:26 am
Posts: 65
Location: Byron Bay NSW
Exchange/Suburb: Ballina
State: NSW
And I just thought i was getting slashdotted... ;)

Next time maybe.

Thanks for the update.. please post ETR if/when you get one.

Cheers,

Dylan.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:39 am 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
For anyone that thinks they have an outage in any other state, you do not.. Please check your software of modem settings.

For those that are in a border town but not in NSW you may be accessing your connection through the NSW router and may also experience issues.

There is still no update from Powertel at this time although they are activley working on the problem.

As you can imagine the helpdesk is overloaded. Please try not to call unless it is really nessasary, they cannot give you an update

Word has just come (while I am typing this) through that it is some sort of a worm virus but I am not sure of the accuracy of this information.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:46 am 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9989
State: NSW
Mine's OK again now - pings, speeds and (lack of) packet loss all back to normal


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:47 am 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
Yes, just fixed it I hope.. just doing the follow up work now


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:48 am 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 11:14 pm
Posts: 1185
Location: Hawthorne QLD
Response times into NSW (from QLD) seem to be back t o normal
anyone from within able to trace out for comparison - Geoff perhaps

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert 202.63.35.130

Tracing route to 202.63.35.130 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 11 ms 11 ms 13 ms lo0.core-r1.qld01.aanet.com.au [202.63.43.1]
3 12 ms 11 ms 13 ms 203.185.211.37
4 13 ms 12 ms 12 ms bri-core-p-01-gig1-0-6.powertel.net.au [202.92.64.118]
5 28 ms 24 ms 26 ms SYD-core1-GE2-0-35.powertel.net.au [202.92.64.21]
6 27 ms 26 ms 26 ms cust-gw014-pc6.powertel.net.au [202.92.64.149]
7 29 ms 27 ms 26 ms 202.92.98.206
8 25 ms 29 ms 28 ms 202.63.35.130

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

_________________
Image
Scorps said N00b lol


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:49 am 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9989
State: NSW
LJ wrote:
anyone from within able to trace out for comparison - Geoff perhaps


1 12 ms 11 ms 11 ms lo0.core-r1.nsw01.dataco.com.au [202.63.35.1]
2 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms 202.92.98.205
3 11 ms 11 ms 12 ms syd-core-p-01-ge216.powertel.net.au [202.92.64.1
54]
4 13 ms 12 ms 12 ms g0-3-569.cor13.hay.connect.com.au [203.63.71.98]

5 14 ms 12 ms 13 ms ge-0-1-0.bdr5.hay.connect.com.au [203.63.217.18]

6 13 ms 12 ms 13 ms hay-telstra.gw.connect.com.au [203.63.130.249]
7 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms TenGigabitEthernet8-1.pit1.Sydney.telstra.net [2
03.50.20.39]
8 12 ms 13 ms 13 ms pitt-tcom-r01 [139.130.185.254]
9 15 ms 13 ms 13 ms 144.135.19.84
10 * 13 ms 15 ms 144.135.18.18
11 15 ms 13 ms 14 ms 144.135.18.41

Trace complete.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:18 pm 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
Not so fast.. it is gone again.. sorry people


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:32 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:26 am
Posts: 65
Location: Byron Bay NSW
Exchange/Suburb: Ballina
State: NSW
Was good for about 15 minutes.. now its back to slow.

Up and down.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:47 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9989
State: NSW
Yes, I've got no connection at all. won't even authenticate :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:49 pm 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
No the interface it shut down while they try to control the worm..

I cant even get through to the helpdesk now.. that would be the Powertel helpdesk


Last edited by Cat Carroll on Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:50 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9989
State: NSW
worm? is that what's causing the issues? :shock:



edit: oh, oops... didn't see the first post about the worm :oops:


Last edited by Geoff on Mon Jun 05, 2006 1:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:55 pm 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
Who knows.. they seem to have all gone for lunch..

Personally I am very unhappy at the moment with Powertels handling of problems


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 1:21 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9989
State: NSW
not so sure about their worm story... looks to me like the same symptoms they were having a couple of times over the last week. They've had plenty of time to contain it if it was a worm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 1:42 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:26 am
Posts: 65
Location: Byron Bay NSW
Exchange/Suburb: Ballina
State: NSW
wow this is taking ages.. thanks for your persistence Cat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:25 pm 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
Well, it seems some helpful soul saw the alarms go on and have shut down the AGVCs from the Telstra side.

The Telstra tech can not find out where they are shut... so the saga continues. When Telstra come back on line only then can we get the Powertel problem sorted out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:46 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9989
State: NSW
ok... whoever just touched something... don't move... don't even blink... it's working just like it is :D


(and don't breathe too hard either...)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:46 pm 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
OK.. Telstra side is back up.. so is Powertel..so who is still having difficulty?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:05 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:26 am
Posts: 65
Location: Byron Bay NSW
Exchange/Suburb: Ballina
State: NSW
im good right now!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:06 pm 
Offline
Neophyte
Neophyte
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:23 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Neutral Bay, NSW
Exchange/Suburb: North Sydney
State: NSW
After a frustrating day - all seems to be up (I'm in Crows Nest, NSW). I can authenticate with AAnet, Both VOIP boxes are connected, and the internet is finally accessible.

But the AAnet usage meter is not up. Still, It's not the end of the world!



Michael


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:29 pm 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
stellarenergy wrote:

But the AAnet usage meter is not up. Still, It's not the end of the world!

Michael


I will get them to fix that now


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:30 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 10:58 pm
Posts: 77
Location: central west nsw
finaly back up i was woundering why the helpdesk was busy when i rung this morning

so the thing that messed up pppoe on my router was the telstra avgc going down

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:48 pm 
Offline
Neophyte
Neophyte

Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:28 pm
Posts: 1
Cat Carroll wrote:
OK.. Telstra side is back up.. so is Powertel..so who is still having difficulty?


Had a bad tracert a few mins ago, but reset my modem and things look peachy now :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 24 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
[ Time : 0.226s | 17 Queries | GZIP : On ]