aaNet Support Forum

Members Forum
It is currently Tue Jan 26, 2021 6:04 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:47 pm 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:11 am
Posts: 1393
Location: Perth
Exchange/Suburb: 1111
State: WA
aaNet over the next few days/weeks will be moving to offer new modems, and prices.

The new modems we will be shipping, are from Open Networks.

Standard ADSL2+ modems

Open 621 $59.95
(Single port USB and Ethernet)

Open 624 $79.95
(Four port Ethernet Modem)

Open 624W $139.95
(Four port Ethernet and Wireless)


VoIP Enabled ADSL2+ Modems

Open 824RL $179.95
(VoIP enabled Ethernet only)

Open 824RLW $249.95
(VoIP enabled Wireless Modem)


Filter/Spliter

Standard Inline filter $9.95
Spliter/Filter device $14.95

All Open Networks ADSL Modems come pre-configured with your aaNet username and password, so are ready to use out of the box.

Shipping for all modems is $14.95


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:09 pm 
Offline
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 5326
Location: Geelong, Victoria
Will the billion modems still be available for customers or are these modems going to be replacing those (for what's available from aaNet)

_________________
free pr0n
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:11 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member

Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 12:19 am
Posts: 141
Location: Victoria Point , QLD
We will only be selling the Open Networks modems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:19 pm 
Offline
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 5326
Location: Geelong, Victoria
patricklee wrote:
We will only be selling the Open Networks modems.

Hrmm - do Billion and Open Networks have the same supplier?
Just looking at ON's website the images of their VoIP Wireless ADSL2 router is the same as my Billion 7402VGP... Except there's no Billion logo on it. :s

_________________
free pr0n
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:23 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9996
State: NSW
Is there any particular reason for the change... or just purely a business decision?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:29 pm 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:11 am
Posts: 1393
Location: Perth
Exchange/Suburb: 1111
State: WA
TheClient wrote:
patricklee wrote:
We will only be selling the Open Networks modems.

Hrmm - do Billion and Open Networks have the same supplier?
Just looking at ON's website the images of their VoIP Wireless ADSL2 router is the same as my Billion 7402VGP... Except there's no Billion logo on it. :s


I think the VoIP enabled modems use the same chipset, so very little difference.

Jason


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:32 pm 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:11 am
Posts: 1393
Location: Perth
Exchange/Suburb: 1111
State: WA
Geoff wrote:
Is there any particular reason for the change... or just purely a business decision?


Business decision. EFTel supply the 62x series of modems to their customers, so it makes sense to use the same supplier.

I supported the Open Networks devices at another ISP I once worked at, and the devices themselves are good.

A plus for customers is that just about all of the modems have seen a drop in price, and we now pre-configure the device before shipping to the customer.

Also, the new courier will leave the modem at the post office should they not be available, making delivary easier should the customer not be home.

Jason


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 2:38 pm 
Offline
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 5326
Location: Geelong, Victoria
Jason_M wrote:
I think the VoIP enabled modems use the same chipset, so very little difference.

Jason

Would make sense then.

_________________
free pr0n
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm 
Offline
-- Bolond --
-- Bolond --
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 2:58 pm
Posts: 4726
Location: Melbourne
State: Vic
Noname modems?
Great opportunity for the guys here on the forum.
Life is boring without the netcomms... :roll:

Jason_M wrote:
Also, the new courier will leave the modem at the post office should they not be available, making delivary easier should the customer not be home.

Good idea.

_________________
Cheers,misi
Little Gurus !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:33 pm 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:11 am
Posts: 1393
Location: Perth
Exchange/Suburb: 1111
State: WA
They are not no-name modems.

Open networks have been supplying ADSL modems to many large australian ISPs for years.

Jason


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:30 pm 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 724
Location: Northside Brisbane ADSL 2
Exchange/Suburb: NOT Phone Number
State: Qld
Home brand :P

_________________
http://broadbandelite.com
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
[ Time : 0.102s | 15 Queries | GZIP : On ]