aaNet Support Forum

Members Forum
It is currently Tue Jan 19, 2021 11:29 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 433 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 9:53 pm 
Offline
Volunteer Moderator
Volunteer Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 8269
Location: SE Melbonia
State: Vic
Jason_M wrote:
foxidrive wrote:
The $50 is credited before it is charged, as Jason has posted earlier.


Actually the charge gets queued up for your billing date, and I delete it before it bills ;)

Jason


And you reserve the right to change your mind, right? :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:01 pm 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 6:12 pm
Posts: 829
Location: Lara, Victoria, Australia
Exchange/Suburb: Lara
State: Vic
Jason_M wrote:
foxidrive wrote:
The $50 is credited before it is charged, as Jason has posted earlier.


Actually the charge gets queued up for your billing date, and I delete it before it bills ;)

Jason


Well I am impressed by the speed and content of replies...Been busy pressie wrapping for my kids and not read the posts before my "Shock" discovery...! (15 pages worth...)

So I am glad it has been cleared up, despite my apparent ignorance and I shall now go press "Proceed"

Christmas cheers to all

Thanks for your replies :lol:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:53 pm 
Offline
I must not leet
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 2:30 pm
Posts: 933
Location: Cairns, Far North Queensland
Is it just me or has the speed test thread gone?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:56 am 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9996
State: NSW
LAD wrote:
Is it just me or has the speed test thread gone?


This one?
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-re ... 46775&p=23

or this one?
http://forums.aanet.com.au/viewtopic.ph ... highlight=


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:08 am 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:30 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Redcliffe Exchange 8Mb Trial / 51DB attent
Exchange/Suburb: Redcliffe
State: Qld
Geoff wrote:
LAD wrote:
Is it just me or has the speed test thread gone?


This one?
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-re ... 46775&p=23

or this one?
http://forums.aanet.com.au/viewtopic.ph ... highlight=


speedtest ftp

200 PORT command successful
150-Connecting to port 11871
150 8772.4 kbytes to download
226-File successfully transferred
226 18.854 seconds (measured here), 465.29 Kbytes per second
ftp: 8982910 bytes received in 18.89Seconds 475.54Kbytes/sec.


and http

Test run on 22/12/2006 @ 07:12 AM

Mirror: OptusNet
Data: 15 MB
Test Time: 33.4 secs

Your line speed is 3.75 Mbps (3752 kbps).
Your download speed is 469 KB/s (0.46 MB/s).


benny


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:14 am 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9996
State: NSW
Code:
226 13.216 seconds (measured here), 0.65 Mbytes per second
ftp: 8982910 bytes received in 13.25Seconds 678.01Kbytes/sec.


mid 600s-700KB/s is still the norm for me... sometimes it'll dip lower though to 400 or so


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:42 am 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:30 pm
Posts: 743
Location: Redcliffe Exchange 8Mb Trial / 51DB attent
Exchange/Suburb: Redcliffe
State: Qld
Geoff wrote:
Code:
226 13.216 seconds (measured here), 0.65 Mbytes per second
ftp: 8982910 bytes received in 13.25Seconds 678.01Kbytes/sec.


mid 600s-700KB/s is still the norm for me... sometimes it'll dip lower though to 400 or so


As i just said over in WP , all things taken into consideration I'm happy with the speed. I have tweaked a couple of computers' RWIN values and that has made a difference as well. That is teh first time I have ever had to tweak the actual computer to gain speed though .

I understood before I signed up ( and the reasons why ) , that I wouldn't get optimum speed, but would others understand ? That is my only concern ATM.

Remember that people were jumping off the deep end only a couple of months ago because of " poor speeds " however through it all (and for a couple of years before and after ) my speed ( 512/128 ) stayed constant . One could say we are in 8MB honeymoon stage ATM :D

I only hope that aaNet use the experiences of the " poor " 8MB experiences wisely to be proactive when signing people up so that potential problems such as mine and a few others are pointed out to new signups. For some people it may be benificial both speed and $$ wise to simply goto the 1500 plans.

By advising a potential low speed customer of the posibility of low speeds, and suggesting that they goto the cheaper 1500 plan, they could well gain a customer for life because of the honesty factor.

Perhaps Bobski could write a script that grabs the signup number and auto checks with hel$tra to see what the distance is from the exchange and mark the application for attention needed if there could be a problem with getting under say 5MB.

benny


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:46 am 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Melbourne
Just a bit of feed-back on the 8Mbit trial. (feed-back being one of the responsibilities of the guinea pigs). :P

The actual speed fluctuates a lot. I get anywhere between 4Mbit and 6.5Mbit. Not a big issue. What I've realised is that the speed increases as you download. That may be a reason why speed tests don't always register good speeds.

It was good to see my Linux installation update itself in a few seconds. :D I'm not big on torrents, but I'll probably get to test that over the holidays. What is surprising is that the speed is noticeable even when web surfing, especially when loading content-rich pages, or multiple pages at the same time. I've got this habit of opening up 10-20 tabs at one.:)

VOIP was good even on 512, but using two simultaneous connections was patchy. I haven't tried two simultaneous VOIP calls, so that is another thing I have to try.

I didn't think I'd be saying this, but I'm pleasantly surprised with the new plan. I'll post more over the holidays, I'm too busy going from Christmas party to Christmas party, every day. :P

_________________
BroadbandElite


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:00 am 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:11 am
Posts: 1393
Location: Perth
Exchange/Suburb: 1111
State: WA
Great to hear wombat :)

Jason


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:28 am 
Offline
*jumps out window*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:18 pm
Posts: 2332
Location: Sipping a Piña Colada
Exchange/Suburb: LARA
State: Vic
wombat wrote:
The actual speed fluctuates a lot. I get anywhere between 4Mbit and 6.5Mbit. Not a big issue. What I've realised is that the speed increases as you download. That may be a reason why speed tests don't always register good speeds.


Same for me.

It's going well, thanks very much Jason. 8)

_________________
- 8000/TR2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:35 am 
Offline
I must not leet
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 2:30 pm
Posts: 933
Location: Cairns, Far North Queensland
Geoff wrote:


that was the one, did it get moved? :roll:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:47 am 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: BrisVegas
Downloaded 300mb file on torrent and got around 240Kb/s from 20 seeders.
I play BF2 online and it was not playable on a 512 link with another pc browsing the web.
This is not a problem on the 8Mbit link with only a slight increase in latency in BF2 but not that noticable. All good my end.

_________________
[SIGNATURE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:19 pm 
Offline
Neophyte
Neophyte

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:59 am
Posts: 1
Location: Sydney
Just came across the trial offer. Am I too late to join up?

_________________
AGdi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:43 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 1:58 pm
Posts: 357
Location: Melbourne
Yes, I think the trial selection ended a long time ago, and the new 8mbit plans have been released.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:54 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 11:26 pm
Posts: 2732
Location: 450 meters from the NODE
Exchange/Suburb: Redland Bay on FTTN
State: Qld
Alias Gunadi wrote:
Just came across the trial offer. Am I too late to join up?

WP wrote:
dsl8000 Trial Offer

That offer has passed its end date, you are no longer able to participate in it. Sorry about that.

_________________
Anyone seen my sig ??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 2:38 pm 
Offline
*jumps out window*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:18 pm
Posts: 2332
Location: Sipping a Piña Colada
Exchange/Suburb: LARA
State: Vic
The Vic/Tas speedtest is now working.

Quote:
Your current bandwidth reading is:

6.46 Mbps

which means you can download at 826.25 KB/sec. from our servers.

_________________
- 8000/TR2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 3:12 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
Jacobjac wrote:
The Vic/Tas speedtest is now working.



Your current bandwidth reading is:

6.38 Mbps

which means you can download at 816.38 KB/sec. from our servers.

ie. very similar to my speedtest.net results.

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:30 pm 
Offline
Neophyte
Neophyte
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:35 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Brisbane - Kallangur Exchange
Was wondering if anyone from North Lakes is on the 8mbit trial and what their experience has been?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 7:17 am 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 8:04 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Raymond Terrace, NSW
Exchange/Suburb: RTCE
State: NSW
My speed tests

I wanted all my tests together for comparison purposes, so the link above has all of them. Lots of people posting here but I'd still like to hear from aaNet whether this stuff is of any use for their purposes.

Is anyone having real problems? I mean to the point of calling support?

For my part while it's not as fast as expected (though still damned fast) I'm not really having any problems - though speed is somewhat variable the connection is stable.

I'm thinking even a 15Meg speed test is not big enough - all my tests have been around 250-300kb/s yet on a 100Meg podcast download in iTunes it was showing just over 700kb/s. I don't know which to believe. Thoughts on that anyone?

_________________
This signature intentionally left blank.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 8:30 am 
Offline
The Great One
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 331
Location: Sunshine Coast
rosco wrote:


Shouldn't you be getting much better results than that?

Especially when you're only 1665m from your exchange!

_________________
I'm back...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 9:15 am 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 8:04 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Raymond Terrace, NSW
Exchange/Suburb: RTCE
State: NSW
Dane wrote:
rosco wrote:


Shouldn't you be getting much better results than that?

Especially when you're only 1665m from your exchange!


Yes, I would expect to be getting full speed at my distance - that's cable length, in reality I could almost throw rocks on the exchange's roof...

_________________
This signature intentionally left blank.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 11:53 am 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
rosco wrote:
Dane wrote:
rosco wrote:


Shouldn't you be getting much better results than that?

Especially when you're only 1665m from your exchange!


Yes, I would expect to be getting full speed at my distance - that's cable length, in reality I could almost throw rocks on the exchange's roof...


How is your mac connected to your modem? Wireless or wired?

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 1:07 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 8:04 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Raymond Terrace, NSW
Exchange/Suburb: RTCE
State: NSW
Petronius wrote:
How is your mac connected to your modem? Wireless or wired?


Wireless (Netgear)

_________________
This signature intentionally left blank.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 2:38 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
rosco wrote:
Petronius wrote:
How is your mac connected to your modem? Wireless or wired?


Wireless (Netgear)


Hmmmm...I recall reading in another thread, or perhaps on Whirlpool, that some people were reporting slower speeds when connected wirelessly compared to wired.

Are you able to connect your 'puter to the modem with an ethernet cable to prove or disprove this?

I will attempt something similar with my setup as well.

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 3:40 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 8:04 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Raymond Terrace, NSW
Exchange/Suburb: RTCE
State: NSW
Petronius wrote:
rosco wrote:
Petronius wrote:
How is your mac connected to your modem? Wireless or wired?


Wireless (Netgear)


Hmmmm...I recall reading in another thread, or perhaps on Whirlpool, that some people were reporting slower speeds when connected wirelessly compared to wired.

Are you able to connect your 'puter to the modem with an ethernet cable to prove or disprove this?


Hmm, not really. I'd have to buy a cable and run it through several rooms, that's why the use of wireless...

_________________
This signature intentionally left blank.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 433 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18  Next

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
[ Time : 0.226s | 17 Queries | GZIP : On ]