aaNet Support Forum

Members Forum
It is currently Tue Jan 26, 2021 5:12 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 433 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 3:44 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
Petronius wrote:
Hmmmm...I recall reading in another thread, or perhaps on Whirlpool, that some people were reporting slower speeds when connected wirelessly compared to wired.


So much for that theory. I've just hooked up my Mac via Airport instead of ethernet, and I'm only getting a very slight reduction in speed as measured on the speedtest.net page: eg 6610 kbit/s wireless as opposed to 6640 kbit/s wired (that's the average of three tests in each case).

I get such variable results with the ozspeedtest.com site that I can't make any useful comparison between wired and wireless.

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 3:47 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9996
State: NSW
I get no difference between wireless and wired either. I think it depends on the individual's setup


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 3:53 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
Geoff wrote:
I get no difference between wireless and wired either. I think it depends on the individual's setup

Quite possibly. Not only do you have the signal strength to worry about, but you also have encryption overheads if you're running WEP or WPA; the wireless adapter in the computer (especially if it is an older 802.11b card); and maybe even the processor in the modem/router.

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 4:04 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 8:04 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Raymond Terrace, NSW
Exchange/Suburb: RTCE
State: NSW
I think I'll leave it until Wednesday then bring it to Support's attention. Nothing can happen before then anyway and I'll have more sample info.

I would just like to hear from the aaNet techie person behind the trial whether all this posting of info is what they want - it all seems too random to be much use. Maybe it's all for nothing and they just want to hear from people with issues, but I don't understand why they haven't given us some guidelines for what they want.

_________________
This signature intentionally left blank.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 4:17 pm 
Offline
I must not leet
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 2:30 pm
Posts: 933
Location: Cairns, Far North Queensland
Geoff wrote:
I get no difference between wireless and wired either. I think it depends on the individual's setup

seems that way, I used to have a big difference but after running TCPoptimizer they all run about the same

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 4:20 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9996
State: NSW
for the record, I'm using 802.11b (centrino wireless thingy) and the Billion 7402vgp, and the Intel proset software to manage the connection


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 7:04 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 8:04 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Raymond Terrace, NSW
Exchange/Suburb: RTCE
State: NSW
Hmm, different web site, very different result. Still "slow" though...

Image

_________________
This signature intentionally left blank.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 7:19 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
Does your modem tell you what speed it is synching at? If it hasn't "trained" itself properly, you may not be getting the fastest synch speed (and therefore the fastest download speed) possible.

On the other hand, you may just have a noisy ADSL link. :(

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 7:36 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 8:04 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Raymond Terrace, NSW
Exchange/Suburb: RTCE
State: NSW
Petronius wrote:
Does your modem tell you what speed it is synching at? If it hasn't "trained" itself properly, you may not be getting the fastest synch speed (and therefore the fastest download speed) possible.

On the other hand, you may just have a noisy ADSL link. :(


Sync is at 8Mbits (see the link in my sig) :?

_________________
This signature intentionally left blank.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:37 pm 
Offline
Neophyte
Neophyte

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:21 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Townsville, QLD
I'm keen to be part of the trial, more bandwidth is always a good thing!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:38 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 14391
Location: Far outer West of Snake Valley in Vic.
Exchange/Suburb: Snake Valley
State: Vic
bandm1 wrote:
I'm keen to be part of the trial, more bandwidth is always a good thing!

Sadly, the trial is closed. The new plans are on www.aanet.com.au - you might2 them attractive. :)

_________________
The Administratively moderate one. Image
FreeCycle your unwanted goods https://www.freecycle.org/browse/AU


Last edited by aaChris on Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:40 pm 
Offline
-- Bolond --
-- Bolond --
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 2:58 pm
Posts: 4726
Location: Melbourne
State: Vic
aaChris wrote:
The new plans are on www.aanet.com.au - you might might them attractive. :)


Just might, might... :(

_________________
Cheers,misi
Little Gurus !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:42 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 14391
Location: Far outer West of Snake Valley in Vic.
Exchange/Suburb: Snake Valley
State: Vic
misi8888 wrote:
aaChris wrote:
The new plans are on www.aanet.com.au - you might might them attractive. :)


Just might, might... :(

And aaNet don't shape, throttle, squeeze or anything nasty, not like T.. does. ;)

Also see --> http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-re ... =648681#r1

_________________
The Administratively moderate one. Image
FreeCycle your unwanted goods https://www.freecycle.org/browse/AU


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:09 pm 
Offline
-- Bolond --
-- Bolond --
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 2:58 pm
Posts: 4726
Location: Melbourne
State: Vic
aaChris wrote:
The new plans are on www.aanet.com.au - you might2 them attractive. :)


Puzzle... Find the fault... :P

_________________
Cheers,misi
Little Gurus !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:36 am 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
Jason_M wrote:
As part of the preparation for the commercial launch of the new 8Mbps ADSL service, aaNet is looking for some trial customers.

<snip>

The ADSL Plan will offer free churn, and no contract period. The price will be guaranteed for a minimum of six months.


Hmmm - I seem to have been charged a plan change fee in my last statement. Do I need to e-mail someone (billing? billings?) to get this resolved?

edit: changed 'churn fee' to 'plan change fee'

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Last edited by Petronius on Thu Jan 04, 2007 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:48 am 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9996
State: NSW
Petronius wrote:
Hmmm - I seem to have been charged a churn fee in my last statement. Do I need to e-mail someone (billing? billings?) to get this resolved?


email billing [at] aanet.com.au about it... I think Jason is on holiday so it may not get picked up from the forum atm...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 3:42 pm 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: BrisVegas
Petronius wrote:
Quote:

The ADSL Plan will offer free churn, and no contract period. The price will be guaranteed for a minimum of six months.


Hmmm - I seem to have been charged a churn fee in my last statement. Do I need to e-mail someone (billing? billings?) to get this resolved?


You're not the only one. Got charged $50 for the churn fee too. :?

_________________
[SIGNATURE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:10 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
GrassyKnoll wrote:
You're not the only one. Got charged $50 for the churn fee too. :?

I've got a task number assigned, so I'll let you know how things pan out

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:18 pm 
Offline
I must not leet
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 2:30 pm
Posts: 933
Location: Cairns, Far North Queensland
I see somebody has posted the same problem over on WP. Could be something to watch out for, for all of us.

I haven't had my first bill yet as I had just gone past my anniversary so I think they just called it even for the first month instead of double billing me, hope I don't get a plan change fee as my credit card probably wont handle it this soon after Xmas and New Years.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:23 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9996
State: NSW
No problems with mine...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:40 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
I think I recall reading a post from Jason, saying that he was removing the charge for the trial users before it hit the billing system. Maybe a few just slipped though when he wasn't looking.

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:42 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9996
State: NSW
Petronius wrote:
I think I recall reading a post from Jason, saying that he was removing the charge for the trial users before it hit the billing system. Maybe a few just slipped though when he wasn't looking.


but a churn charge for existing customers? :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 7:59 am 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: BrisVegas
Mine is a speed upgrade charge, not a churn charge. Do people have to pay for speed upgrade charge for the 8Mbit trial?

_________________
[SIGNATURE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 8:02 am 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:19 am
Posts: 9996
State: NSW
no, I got no fees at all - just the new monthly charge


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 8:12 am 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: BrisVegas
It had to be me... Y O Y.

_________________
[SIGNATURE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK]


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 433 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18  Next

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
[ Time : 0.116s | 17 Queries | GZIP : On ]