aaNet Support Forum

Members Forum
It is currently Tue Jan 19, 2021 12:11 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 82 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Finally in sight
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:15 am 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
Hi Everyone,

I think you all know that we have been working extra hard to bring you ADSL2 ...

We are not making any promises but things are looking up in this direction. We are currently in serious negotiations regarding the product, not that it means anything really because we have been for a long time now

It does mean however we now feel we are in with a better than average chance to get this for you. I will keep you posted on any further developments.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:16 am 
Offline
Generic pleb
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 11:09 am
Posts: 3554
Location: Melbourne
State: Vic
\:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:17 am 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Melbourne
Can you give us any rough estimates of when you think we may be able to get it? We won't hold you to it, but it would be good to know how close is 'close'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:18 am 
Offline
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 5326
Location: Geelong, Victoria
^^ What he did


Cat - is Lara still going to get ADSL2 enabled by you guys in that partnership?!

_________________
free pr0n
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:23 am 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 624
Location: Port Stephens, NSW
Good news :)

However most of us in regional areas will still be waiting for your carier (I'm guessing Optus) to roll out their DSLAM network, and Optus have stated that it will be a project that takes some time, and still will not cover 100% of Australia.

My two cents worth anyway

*Feels like an idiot panda for pouring cold water onto the fun*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:27 am 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
LOL..bad guess


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:27 am 
Offline
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 5326
Location: Geelong, Victoria
Rolled :P

_________________
free pr0n
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:32 am 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
wombat wrote:
Can you give us any rough estimates of when you think we may be able to get it? We won't hold you to it, but it would be good to know how close is 'close'


No estimates yet..I will be burned at the stake. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:42 am 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 624
Location: Port Stephens, NSW
Cat Carroll wrote:
LOL..bad guess


Telstra, MCI, Powertel.. You wont tell me anyway I Imagine :P

However Im thinking its not Telstra cause our TW Rep told us they have no plans for it as yet (Then again we are just a bunch of stooges and Telstra dont really love us much :D )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:47 am 
Offline
Generic pleb
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 11:09 am
Posts: 3554
Location: Melbourne
State: Vic
Cat Carroll wrote:
wombat wrote:
Can you give us any rough estimates of when you think we may be able to get it? We won't hold you to it, but it would be good to know how close is 'close'


No estimates yet..I will be burned at the stake. :lol:


You should know by now that giving these guys a little bit of information is just asking for trouble :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:50 am 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Melbourne
caffeine wrote:
You should know by now that giving these guys a little bit of information is just asking for trouble :)


We're not asking for a concrete date, but something along the lines of "in the next 6 / 12 months".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 12:12 pm 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 12:08 pm
Posts: 818
Location: Alex Hills - BNE
wombat wrote:
We're not asking for a concrete date, but something along the lines of "in the next 6 / 12 months".


The best rough estimate Cat should give you wombat is: "When our upstream provider has provisioned the infrastructure". To offer anything more concrete would be risky (bad PR when dates come and go) and with prejudice (the ultimate project timeline rests with their upstream provider and they are relying on information passed to them from whoever that upstream provider is).

Upstream provider? :shock:

_________________
System Tester : Improving your world one bug at a time.
Skype : System_Tester :: Firefly : 88240000


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Finally in sight
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 2:36 pm 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 7:54 am
Posts: 576
Location: Mt Gravatt exchange about 2kms away, Brisbane Qld.
Exchange/Suburb: Mt Gravatt
State: Qld
As a member I appreciate the information that the higher speed connection is being looked at by my ISP provider.

As a member I don't want my ISP to be burned by any ADSL users because of promises that may have been realistic at the beginning, but for technical or commercial reasons may not evenuate.

I am just thankful for the effort that my ISP is providing in her attempt to cut a deal which will be useful to me and commercially viable to my ISP.

Thank you Cat for your endeavours, I am more than happy to support an extra $3 per month for ongoing issues to be resolved.
I am on 512/128 at the moment.

_________________
They are just dumb machines


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:06 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:47 am
Posts: 90
Location: nhulunbuy NT
deja vu....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:08 pm 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 12:08 pm
Posts: 818
Location: Alex Hills - BNE
Not yet

_________________
System Tester : Improving your world one bug at a time.
Skype : System_Tester :: Firefly : 88240000


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finally in sight
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:12 pm 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member

Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 9:58 am
Posts: 568
Location: Melbourne
Interesting to read the experiences of some other ISPs' users that have already been ported over to ADSL2 DSLAMS.

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-re ... m?t=404113

Apparently one ISP has done this without informing their customers (Primus), and when some of the ported customers wanted to churn to another ISP, Telstra told them that there was a $206 charge to rejumper their cable pair back to the Telstra DSLAM!

Going to ADSL2 seems to be a much bigger commitment than a lot of people currently realise.........

_________________
Regards, David.
Knowledge is a measure of how many answers you have, intelligence is a measure of how many questions you have.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finally in sight
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:16 pm 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
dcstar wrote:

Going to ADSL2 seems to be a much bigger commitment than a lot of people currently realise.........


This is true.. it really is

aaNet will not force people to take DSL 2 if they have no wish for it but we do need to offer it as an option.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finally in sight
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:18 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Melbourne
Cat Carroll wrote:
This is true.. it really is

aaNet will not force people to take DSL 2 if they have no wish for it but we do need to offer it as an option.

Will it be available to all, or only on some exchanges?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:53 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 7:30 pm
Posts: 196
Location: Gold Coast - Qld
Exchange/Suburb: Merrimac
State: Qld
Great News Cat, Looking forwarded to having the option at least!

Will the same plan pricing be the same? :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:18 pm 
Offline
*jumps out window*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:18 pm
Posts: 2332
Location: Sipping a Piña Colada
Exchange/Suburb: LARA
State: Vic
TheClient wrote:
^^ What he did


Cat - is Lara still going to get ADSL2 enabled by you guys in that partnership?!


Please.. for the love of god.. bring ADSL2 to Lara.

There's a surprising amount of interest in this area.

_________________
- 8000/TR2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:20 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 4:17 pm
Posts: 2854
Location: St Lucia
caffeine wrote:
\:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/

My sentiments exactly.

_________________
s vy"o %y! kvs}yx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:31 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
I'm looking forward to the option of ADSL2, although I think I will have to upgrade my modem if a plan comes along at the right price.

Broadband is like a drug. You just keep wanting more & more. :lol:

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:56 pm 
Offline
Diamond Member
Diamond Member

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 5326
Location: Geelong, Victoria
Jacobjac wrote:
TheClient wrote:
^^ What he did


Cat - is Lara still going to get ADSL2 enabled by you guys in that partnership?!


Please.. for the love of god.. bring ADSL2 to Lara.

There's a surprising amount of interest in this area.


I'd be on ADSL 2 almost straight away :P

_________________
free pr0n
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 6:57 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 1:19 pm
Posts: 4979
Location: Ashtonfield (Maitland) NSW
TheClient wrote:
Jacobjac wrote:
TheClient wrote:
^^ What he did


Cat - is Lara still going to get ADSL2 enabled by you guys in that partnership?!


Please.. for the love of god.. bring ADSL2 to Lara.

There's a surprising amount of interest in this area.


I'd be on ADSL 2 almost straight away :P


Me too if it is offered in Newcastle/Maitland when aanet gets it.

We should put this on the public record early, I am willing to beg for ADSL 2 to be put in Newcastle/Maitland. [-o<

_________________
Joshua 24:15
01001101 01010100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 7:09 pm 
Offline
*jumps out window*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:18 pm
Posts: 2332
Location: Sipping a Piña Colada
Exchange/Suburb: LARA
State: Vic
TheClient wrote:
Jacobjac wrote:
TheClient wrote:
^^ What he did


Cat - is Lara still going to get ADSL2 enabled by you guys in that partnership?!


Please.. for the love of god.. bring ADSL2 to Lara.

There's a surprising amount of interest in this area.


I'd be on ADSL 2 almost straight away :P


So would I. Some of the people/Admins from MonsterLAN live in Lara too and I know they're interested.

_________________
- 8000/TR2


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 82 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
[ Time : 0.130s | 17 Queries | GZIP : On ]