aaNet Support Forum

Members Forum
It is currently Tue Jan 19, 2021 12:50 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 82 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 7:20 pm 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 10:42 am
Posts: 866
Location: Geelong
Don't forget me guys! :twisted:

_________________
Cura ut valeas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 7:35 pm 
Offline
Teller of Jokes

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 949
Location: blind bight melbourne
Exchange/Suburb: warneet
State: Vic
I see by the excited and favourable posts, adsl2 is the go.
So, can somebody please enlighten those of us who are not conversant with the broardband technology, what's it all about ? I'm having trouble trying to fathom all these changes and improvements that are going on these days. Got to try and stay with it :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 7:41 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 4:17 pm
Posts: 2854
Location: St Lucia
Ok, ADSL runs at a max of 8Mb/s. ADSL2 runs at 12Mb/s while ADSL2+ is up to 24Mb/s. That is why ADSL2/2+ is better. However, the only drawback is you need a modem that is compatible with ADSL2.

_________________
s vy"o %y! kvs}yx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 7:47 pm 
Offline
Teller of Jokes

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 949
Location: blind bight melbourne
Exchange/Suburb: warneet
State: Vic
Thanks paranoid.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 7:48 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 1:19 pm
Posts: 4979
Location: Ashtonfield (Maitland) NSW
I dont have a compatible modem but thats ok Ill use my 8 month old netcom as a router with 3 extra ethernet ports, to go with my 4 port usb hub.

_________________
Joshua 24:15
01001101 01010100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 7:55 pm 
Offline
--------------
--------------
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 14391
Location: Far outer West of Snake Valley in Vic.
Exchange/Suburb: Snake Valley
State: Vic
mt wrote:
I dont have a compatible modem but thats ok Ill use my 8 month old netcom as a router with 3 extra ethernet ports, to go with my 4 port usb hub.

:?

_________________
The Administratively moderate one. Image
FreeCycle your unwanted goods https://www.freecycle.org/browse/AU


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 7:59 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 1:19 pm
Posts: 4979
Location: Ashtonfield (Maitland) NSW
aaChris wrote:
mt wrote:
I dont have a compatible modem but thats ok Ill use my 8 month old netcom as a router with 3 extra ethernet ports, to go with my 4 port usb hub.

:?


Trying to look on the bright side here, living in denial re. netcomm.

_________________
Joshua 24:15
01001101 01010100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:59 pm 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 624
Location: Port Stephens, NSW
mt wrote:
Me too if it is offered in Newcastle/Maitland when aanet gets it.

We should put this on the public record early, I am willing to beg for ADSL 2 to be put in Newcastle/Maitland. [-o<


Do you know where in Maitland yet? A few RIM's to deal with out there. Thing the Pair Gain situation is pretty good. The Telstra Country Wide office for this area is in Maitland tho. Just setup camp in their driveway till you get your way :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 10:39 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 1:19 pm
Posts: 4979
Location: Ashtonfield (Maitland) NSW
nickbrown wrote:
mt wrote:
Me too if it is offered in Newcastle/Maitland when aanet gets it.

We should put this on the public record early, I am willing to beg for ADSL 2 to be put in Newcastle/Maitland. [-o<


Do you know where in Maitland yet? A few RIM's to deal with out there. Thing the Pair Gain situation is pretty good. The Telstra Country Wide office for this area is in Maitland tho. Just setup camp in their driveway till you get your way :)


Ashtonfield hopefully. Does that mean I will have to diversify my begging parameters?

_________________
Joshua 24:15
01001101 01010100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 10:45 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:34 pm
Posts: 3262
Location: Melbonia
paranoid wrote:
Ok, ADSL runs at a max of 8Mb/s. ADSL2 runs at 12Mb/s while ADSL2+ is up to 24Mb/s. That is why ADSL2/2+ is better. However, the only drawback is you need a modem that is compatible with ADSL2.

Am I correct in saying that although normal ADSL is technically capable of running at 6 to 8 Mbit/s, it is throttled back to a maximum of 1500kbit/s?
Whether this is for commercial reasons, or for some technical reason to do with Telstra's network....well, I don't know.

If it is a commercial decision, then maybe when ADSL2 comes along, the ceiling might be lifted on ADSL to something like 4-6 Mbit/s. (read, I wish. :) )

_________________
Live Life With Blue Sun


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 10:56 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 4:17 pm
Posts: 2854
Location: St Lucia
Petronius wrote:
Am I correct in saying that although normal ADSL is technically capable of running at 6 to 8 Mbit/s, it is throttled back to a maximum of 1500kbit/s?
Whether this is for commercial reasons, or for some technical reason to do with Telstra's network....well, I don't know.

If it is a commercial decision, then maybe when ADSL2 comes along, the ceiling might be lifted on ADSL to something like 4-6 Mbit/s. (read, I wish. :) )

Yes, Telstra hold back the port speed to 1536K, just because they are telstra. :roll:

That would be nice, especially as 4-6Mb/s would be more than enough for most users.

_________________
s vy"o %y! kvs}yx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 10:59 pm 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 624
Location: Port Stephens, NSW
mt wrote:
Ashtonfield hopefully. Does that mean I will have to diversify my begging parameters?


Well these are the ones that are ADSL enabled (Hard to tell what lot you will be in)
Code:
                NSW   NEWCASTLE   MAIT   MAITLAND   02   49330000   49330899   02 49330000-49330899   NSW   NEWCASTLE   MAIT   MAITLAND   02   49331000   49339999   02 49331000-49339999   NSW   NEWCASTLE   MAIT   MAITLAND   02   49341000   49348999   02 49341000-49348999   NSW   NEWCASTLE   MAIT   MAITLAND   02   49366000   49366999   02 49366000-49366999


These are the RIM's that are in the area that are upgraded (There are several more for the Maitland area)
Code:
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA134   CLIFFORD CL   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA134   KILSHANNY AVE   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA134   LIMERICK CL   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA134   SHANNON CL   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA134   TIPPERARY DRV   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA134   WATERFORD CL   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA134   WATERFORD ST   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   BALLEYDOYLE DRV   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   CASTLEMAINE CL   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   DERRY CL                   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   FERGUS AVE   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   GLENCOY CL   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   KILSHANNY AVE   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   KINSALE CL   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   LEINSTER CCT   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   MURPHY CCT   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   SOUTH SEAS DRV   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA132   TYRONE CL   ASHTNFLD   Completed
NSW   MAITLAND - NSW   MAIT   DA059   FOUR MILE CREEK RD   ASHTNFLD   Completed


There are currently no proposed upgrades to the area. The MAIT exchange has 272 ports free, While the RIMs have free ports ranging from 80 down to 16 (In no order).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:09 pm 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 1247
Location: Dandenong North, Victoria
Well, if this happens - it may be incentive to dump the Alcatel STPro and take up the Billion VoIP/ADSL2+ 4 port router/modem.

I presume it has NAT...:S?

_________________
egn insurgency mod admin
http://www.egn.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:09 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 1:19 pm
Posts: 4979
Location: Ashtonfield (Maitland) NSW
With your know-how and my skills of persuasion ADSL 2+ is guaranteed when I head down. :)

_________________
Joshua 24:15
01001101 01010100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:24 am 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:54 am
Posts: 444
Excalibur wrote:
Well, if this happens - it may be incentive to dump the Alcatel STPro and take up the Billion VoIP/ADSL2+ 4 port router/modem.

I presume it has NAT...:S?


Actually that reminds me, I got a Billion VGP yesterday, going to install it tonight.

With VOIP here and ADSL 2 in the pipeworks I anticipate that a few people will think it time to upgrade.

I will be putting in a page for members where they can order modems from us if they wish, I was going to do it the other day but it slipped my mind, hopefully will find time before the end of the day for that...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:39 am 
Offline
Associate Member
Associate Member

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Melbourne
That would be great webmaster... so long as the price is good as well.

I checked out what is currently available on the aaNet website and the Billion VGP was retailing for $295 + postage. Not much of an incentive when you can get it for $240+delivery without any ISP or cheaper with certain ISPs.

Hopefully aaNet would be able to deliver as I'm looking forward to upgrading the Netcomm 5580W (still have trouble holding on to the wireless connection every now and then) which I bought from aaNet when I joined.

Thanks,
William

PS. Just checked again and the price has drop down to $272 + postage... I know you can do better still aaNet...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:47 am 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
William can you send me the link to that modem ... I will talk to Billion and find out what is going on that should not be possible in theory. We make very little on modems and the small amount we do make is there to cover support.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:53 am 
Offline
Volunteer Moderator
Volunteer Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 1:36 pm
Posts: 5134
Location: Brisbane QLD
Cat Carroll wrote:
William can you send me the link to that modem ... I will talk to Billion and find out what is going on that should not be possible in theory. We make very little on modems and the small amount we do make is there to cover support.


http://www.affinityvision.com.au/billion.html#7402VGP

Is $240 (without an ISP deal) +$12 delivery...

_________________
Scorpio
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 11:55 am 
Offline
Associate Member
Associate Member

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Melbourne
Wow... is there anything that Scorpio doesn't know??? :)

The link that he provided is the one I found using staticice.

Hopefully aaNet can improve on the pricing to allow aaNet users to upgrade and possibly use ADLS2/2+ when it becomes available.

Thanks Cat for taking the time and trouble to try and make our stay with aaNet as pleasant as possible. It does make a difference when one of the ISP's objective is customer satisfaction.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:05 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Melbourne
willk wrote:
The link that he provided is the one I found using staticice.

How do you think he found it? :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:32 pm 
Offline
Associate Member
Associate Member

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Melbourne
He is Scorpio.... and you never can tell where his source of information is. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:38 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Melbourne
willk wrote:
He is Scorpio.... and you never can tell where his source of information is. :)


Don't give him too much credit. Take away the trangles and he is a 'Generic pleb' ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Finally in sight
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 6:04 pm 
Offline
Gold Member
Gold Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:07 pm
Posts: 1972
Location: Townsville
Cat Carroll wrote:
Hi Everyone,

I think you all know that we have been working extra hard to bring you ADSL2 ...

Good news, I hope it works out.

_________________
QUEENSLANDER!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:04 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 11:37 am
Posts: 104
Location: Melbourne
cat you give me ADSL2 in Lilydale (Victoria, Melbourne), "i will love you long time"!!!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:55 pm 
Offline
Silver Member
Silver Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 624
Location: Port Stephens, NSW
wasyoungonce wrote:
cat you give me ADSL2 in Lilydale (Victoria, Melbourne), "i will love you long time"!!!!!!!


Hahaha keep it in your pants ay mate, We have Chris for that

LOLOLOLOLOL

Is it sad I really laughed at that?! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 82 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
[ Time : 0.150s | 17 Queries | GZIP : On ]