aaNet Support Forum

Members Forum
It is currently Tue Jan 19, 2021 12:46 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WA and SA
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 1:35 pm 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
Hi all,

it is after due consideration that we have decided to route WA and SA users to another POP, this will give you access to WAIX via another Provider.

Sorry People we have been unable to resolve this WAIX issue up to date but this is an answer to the problem.

I will keep you posted on the details and it shouldnt be to far away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 1:58 pm 
Offline
Out Of Hours Poster

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:03 am
Posts: 1958
For the purpose of understanding my previous post.

A pop is the location that your traffic arrives at our router to give you access to the internet. Changing pops in this case will mean we will use someone elses access (router) for your internet connection that will give you access to WAIX.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 2:16 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 9:19 am
Posts: 233
Location: Brunswick Melbourne
Did aaNet have it's own POP's in WA and SA?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:51 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 1:17 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Mildura (NW Vic) - just moved interstate from Gol Gol
State: Vic
Will users in these states notice anything at all when they access the net, or will it be seamless as far as they are concerned? - I ask because my daughters are in Adelaide with aaNet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 6:21 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 437
Location: Port Hedland, WA
I am a bit confused about this. Does this mean that any traffic going through WAIX will be free (not counted)? I thought free traffic did not exist with aaNet.

Mark

_________________
The more I know, the less I understand...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 6:33 pm 
Offline
Volunteer Forum Admin
Volunteer Forum Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Brisbane
Exchange/Suburb: Acacia Ridge
State: Qld
One of the issues was that traffic from a WA aaNet user to alot of WA "other ISP" users was routed back through the east coast. Connecting to WAIX solves that one.

_________________
aaNet 8Mbit - syncing at 7008/384
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 6:39 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 437
Location: Port Hedland, WA
Andy wrote:
One of the issues was that traffic from a WA aaNet user to alot of WA "other ISP" users was routed back through the east coast. Connecting to WAIX solves that one.


Thanks for that, Andy. I suppose that might be of interest to a gamer as they need good pings. The rest of us probably won't notice any difference at all.

Mark

_________________
The more I know, the less I understand...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 6:43 pm 
Offline
Volunteer Forum Admin
Volunteer Forum Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Brisbane
Exchange/Suburb: Acacia Ridge
State: Qld
ozimarco wrote:
Thanks for that, Andy. I suppose that might be of interest to a gamer as they need good pings. The rest of us probably won't notice any difference at all.

Mark


It was a concern raised by a couple of the first WA aaNet users, which I guess Cat & Co had hoped to have addressed quickly.

_________________
aaNet 8Mbit - syncing at 7008/384
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 6:51 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 437
Location: Port Hedland, WA
Andy wrote:
It was a concern raised by a couple of the first WA aaNet users, which I guess Cat & Co had hoped to have addressed quickly.

If my memory serves me right, I think a guy called Networkgeek ended up churning over the issue.

Mark

_________________
The more I know, the less I understand...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:58 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 437
Location: Port Hedland, WA
Mitre10Handy wrote:
Did aaNet have it's own POP's in WA and SA?

I believe they did and it appears they are now being closed.

Mark

_________________
The more I know, the less I understand...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WA and SA
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:03 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 437
Location: Port Hedland, WA
Cat Carroll wrote:
Hi all,

it is after due consideration that we have decided to route WA and SA users to another POP, this will give you access to WAIX via another Provider.

So, are we still being serviced by aaNet or by this other provider? Also, may we ask who this as yet unnamed provider might be?

Mark

_________________
The more I know, the less I understand...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WA and SA
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:09 am 
Offline
Volunteer Moderator
Volunteer Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 1:36 pm
Posts: 5134
Location: Brisbane QLD
ozimarco wrote:
So, are we still being serviced by aaNet or by this other provider? Also, may we ask who this as yet unnamed provider might be?

Mark


Of course you're still being serviced by aaNet. Cat means another bandwidth provider like Powertel or Optus, not another ISP...

Do you have any idea who provides the bandwidth you use at present?

_________________
Scorpio
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WA and SA
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:08 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 437
Location: Port Hedland, WA
Scorpio65 wrote:
Of course you're still being serviced by aaNet. Cat means another bandwidth provider like Powertel or Optus, not another ISP...

Do you have any idea who provides the bandwidth you use at present?

OK, that wasn't clear from Cat's post. I am guessing we are using Powertel, correct me if I am wrong. So now we will be going to another provider, whoever that may be.

Mark

_________________
The more I know, the less I understand...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:16 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 437
Location: Port Hedland, WA
So, what was the actual issue? Was Powertel (or whoever our bandwidth provider currently is) unwilling or unable to connect aaNet to WAIX?

Mark

_________________
The more I know, the less I understand...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WA and SA
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:00 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 9:19 am
Posts: 233
Location: Brunswick Melbourne
Scorpio65 wrote:
ozimarco wrote:
So, are we still being serviced by aaNet or by this other provider? Also, may we ask who this as yet unnamed provider might be?

Mark


Of course you're still being serviced by aaNet.


Kind of... just aaNet in a different state - looks like what Exetel have done everywhere but NSW. Works for them. Am just wondering why aaNet would do this if they already have POPs in those states.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WA and SA
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:13 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 437
Location: Port Hedland, WA
Mitre10Handy wrote:
Kind of... just aaNet in a different state - looks like what Exetel have done everywhere but NSW. Works for them. Am just wondering why aaNet would do this if they already have POPs in those states.

I am wondering, too. Could it be that there are insufficient aaNet customers in those two states to warrant the expense of keeping those POPs going? We can only guess until more information is provided.

Mark

_________________
The more I know, the less I understand...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WA and SA
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:16 pm 
Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Melbourne
ozimarco wrote:
I am wondering, too. Could it be that there are insufficient aaNet customers in those two states to warrant the expense of keeping those POPs going? We can only guess until more information is provided.

Mark


As long as you continue to get a good connection, why would you care? :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WA and SA
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:58 pm 
Offline
Bronze Member
Bronze Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:31 pm
Posts: 437
Location: Port Hedland, WA
wombat wrote:
As long as you continue to get a good connection, why would you care? :?

So far my connection has been faultless. Hopefully it will continue to be that way after the change to another provider.

Mark

_________________
The more I know, the less I understand...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
[ Time : 0.140s | 17 Queries | GZIP : On ]